Earthquake Catalogue Europe

  • The 2014 Earthquake Model of the Middle East (EMME14 is the latest seismic hazard model, developed within the Earthquake Model of the Middle East (EMME) Project between 2010 and 2014. The model spans across region across eleven countries: Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cyprus, Georgia, Iran, Jordan, Lebanon, Pakistan, Syria and Turkey. This region is one of the most seismically active regions on Earth because of complex interactions between four major tectonic plates i.e., Africa, Eurasia, Arabia and India and one minor tectonic block - Anatolia. Destructive earthquakes frequently occur within this region with great loss of life and properties, as shown by major earthquake disasters in modern human history 1939 Erzincan (Turkey), 1988 Spitak (Armenia), 1990 Manjil (Iran), Izmit (Turkey, 1999), Bam (Iran, 2003), Kashmir (Pakistan, 2005), Van (Turkey, 2011), and Hindu Kush (Afghanistan, 2015).
  • EMME has successfully delivered a regional probabilistic seismic hazard assessment model across multiple disciplines spanning from geology to seismology and earthquake engineering. Together with the outputs of European Seismic Hazard Model (SHARE) and Earthquake model of Central Asia (EMCA), this model will be used to provide a seamless seismic hazard assessment in the whole Eurasia Region.

Main elements and datasets of EMME14:

  • Earthquake Catalogue
  • Active Faults Database
  • Seismogenic Source Models
  • Strong Motion Database
  • Hazard Computation / Input Files


D. Giardini et al., , Seismic Hazard Harmonization in Europe (SHARE): Online Data Resource,, doi: 10.12686/SED-00000001-SHARE, 2013.